In 2005, the Vlaams Bouwmeester art team commissioned eight visual artists from Belgium and abroad to elaborate an artistic proposal for a traffic roundabout: Francis Als, John Bock, Lili Dujourie, Jimmie Durham, Jef Geys, Ilya and Emilia Kabakov, Manfred Pernice and Ettore Spalletti.
The designs submitted did indeed reflect the controversial nature of the issue: a number of artists reacted in a highly critical, almost mischievous, way to the issue, while others submitted what they felt were realistic designs specifically following their own ideas.

Contains a photo essays by photographer Niels Donckers and essays by the architects Guy Châtel and Kris Coremans, philosopher Lieven De Cauter and the present Vlaams Bouwmeester, Marcel Smets.