Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker

Rosas 2007-2017

Edited by Christian Lvowski. Photography by Anne Van Aerschot and Herman Sorgeloos. Interview by Floor Keersmaekers

Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker

49,95

Pages

256

Dimensions

33.5 x 24 cm

Format

Hardcover

Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker (b. 1960) founded her dance company, Rosas, in 1983. Her work is grounded on a rigorous exploration of the relationship between dance and music, and over the years she has engaged the musical structures and scores of different periods and genres, from early music to contemporary expressions of classical and popular music. Her choreographic practice draws from geometric principles, nature, and social structures to offer unique perspectives on the articulation of the body in space and time.

The minimalism of De Keersmaeker’s earliest pieces gave way over the years to ingenious constructions for large ensembles. Then in 2007, the choreography underwent a fundamental change with the emergence of a new kind of minimalism, a paring down to essential principles of sparseness; the spatial constraints of geometric patterns; an unwavering commitment to elementary gestures, notably walking, breathing, and speaking; and a close adherence to a score, musical or otherwise, for the choreographic writing.

Photographers Anne Van Aerschot and Herman Sorgeloos were privileged witnesses to this process, and their images, gathered here for the first time, offer an exceptionally acute look at Rosas’s work over the last decade.

Published in 2018 by Rosas, Brussels; Mercatorfonds, Brussels

SKU: 318-1-1 Category: Tags: ,

Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker

Rosas 2007-2017

Sous la rédaction de Christian Lvowski. Photographie par Anne Van Aerschot en Herman Sorgeloos. Interview par Floor Keersmaekers

Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker

49,95

Pages

256

Dimensions

33.5 x 24 cm

Format

Hardcover

Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker (°1960) a fondé la compagnie de danse Rosas en 1983. Son travail chorégraphique explore inlassablement les liens entre danse et musique, et s’affronte aux structures musicales et aux partitions de toutes les époques, de la musique ancienne à la musique contemporaine en passant par les expressions populaires. Sa pratique puise en outre dans les principes formels de la géométrie, de l’étude des phénomènes naturels et des structures sociales, ouvrant de singulières perspectives sur le déploiement du corps dans l’espace et le temps.

Le minimalisme de ses débuts, nourri de complexité musicale, a peu à peu cédé la place à de flamboyantes constructions pour grands ensembles dansés. En 2007, le travail de la chorégraphe prend cependant un tour nouveau : un « minimalisme second », qui ne revient sur son lieu de départ qu’à une place inattendue. Dépouillement et grand air, simplicité et valorisation énergétique des gestes élémentaires – la marche, le souffle, le parler – reconfigurent la dynamique du simple et du complexe et relancent son écriture.

Les photographes Anne Van Aerschot et Herman Sorgeloos ont été les témoins privilégiés de ce processus. À travers leurs images, réunies dans un seul et même ouvrage pour la première fois depuis dix ans, ils délivrent un regard d’une acuité exceptionnelle sur cette dernière décennie de l’aventure Rosas.

Publié en 2018 par Rosas, Bruxelles; Mercatorfonds, Bruxelles; Actes Sud, Arles/Paris

Diffusion exclusive pour le Benelux par le Fonds Mercator, Bruxelles – Diffusion exclusive en dehors du Benelux par Actes Sud, Arles/Paris

 

UGS : 318-1-1 Catégorie : Étiquettes : ,