Born in 1571, Michelangelo Merisi, better known as Caravaggio, revolutionised Italian painting during the 17th century thanks to the realism and accuracy of his painting as well as his innovative use of chiaroscuro (the contrast of light and dark). For many he represents the greatest naturalist painter of his time.

The exhibition Caravaggio in Rome. Friends and Foes at the Jacquemart-André Museum is dedicated to the painter’s time and works whilst in Rome and to the artistic world in which he developed. The exhibition focuses on the workshops where he undertook his first steps as an artist and his relationships with collectors and artists of the time, including his enemies and rivals.

Despite being imitated by others, Caravaggio was known to oppose his contemporaries during discussions, hearings, and even brawls, such as the one in 1606, in which Caravaggio killed Ranuccio Tomassoni. Sentenced to death, Caravaggio was forced into exile, and his career in Rome ended. The painter was destined to never return to the eternal city.

Ten Caravaggio masterpieces have previously been on loan to such prestigious museums as the National Gallery of Ancient Art, the Borghese Gallery, and the Capitoline Museum in Rome, as well as the Brera Art Gallery in Milan and the State Hermitage Museum in Saint Petersburg, not to mention private collections. They sit alongside works of some of Caravaggio’s illustrious contemporaries, such as Cavalier d’Arpin, Annibale Carracci, Orazio Gentileschi, Giovanni Baglione and Jusepe de Ribera.

The catalogue which accompanies this exhibition follows the key stages of Caravaggio’s career in Rome, illustrates his innovative genius, demonstrates how his style influenced contemporary European painters, and reflects on the artistic effervescence that reigned in Rome during the period.

Caravage à Rome, amis et ennemis

Sous la direction de Francesca Cappelletti et Pierre Curie

Actuellement indisponible

Caravage à Rome, amis et ennemis

39,95

Actuellement indisponible

Pages

200

Dimensions

28 x 24 cm

Format

Hardcover

Né en 1571, Michelangelo Merisi, dit Caravage, va révolutionner la peinture italienne du XVIIe siècle par le réalisme de ses toiles et par son usage novateur du clair-obscur, et devenir le plus grand peintre naturaliste de son temps.

L’exposition Caravage à Rome. Amis et ennemis, présentée au Musée Jacquemart-André, est consacrée à la carrière romaine du peintre et au milieu artistique dans lequel il a évolué. Aussi bien les grands ateliers dans lesquels il a fait ses premières armes, ses rapports avec les collectionneurs et les artistes, que ses ennemis et rivaux.

Imité malgré lui, Caravage s’est parfois opposé à ses contemporains, à l’occasion de discussions, de procès, et même de rixes, comme celle au cours de laquelle, en 1606, il tue Ranuccio Tomassoni. Condamné à mort, il est contraint à l’exil, et sa carrière romaine s’achève. Le peintre ne fera jamais retour dans la ville éternelle.

Dix chefs-d’œuvre de l’artiste ont été exceptionnellement prêtés par des musées aussi prestigieux que les Gallerie nazionali d’Arte Antica, la Galleria Borghese et les Musei Capitolini à Rome, la Pinacoteca di Brera de Milan, ou encore le Musée de l’Ermitage de Saint Pétersbourg, ainsi que par des collections particulières. Ils dialogueront avec les œuvres d’illustres contemporains, comme le Cavalier d’Arpin, Annibal Carrache, Orazio Gentileschi, Giovanni Baglione ou Jusepe de Ribera.

Le catalogue qui accompagne cette exposition retrace les principales étapes de la carrière romaine de Caravage, illustre son génie novateur, permet de montrer l’influence de son style sur les peintres européens contemporains et rendre compte de l’effervescence artistique qui régnait alors à Rome.

Musée Jacquemart-André, Paris, 21 septembre 2018-28 janvier 2019

UGS : 314-2 Catégorie : Étiquettes : , ,