Constant Permeke. Retrospective

Willy Van den Bussche

Constant Permeke. Retrospective

39,95

Pages

228

Dimensions

28 x 24 cm

Format

Hardcover

In co-edition with

Bozar, Brussels

Few art lovers are unfamiliar with the imagery of the Flemish Expressionist Constant Permeke. His monumental fishermen and farming figures, his cosmic landscapes and seascapes are part of Belgiums modern cultural heritage. But Permeke was a universal artist painter, draughtsman and sculptor and his oeuvre chimed with European avant-garde movements just before, during and after the First World War.
Sixty years after the artists death his many works are being examined from a new perspective. This overview of the life and work of Constant Permeke is set against the background of the world he lived in and of a particularly turbulent era.

Willy Van den Bussche is honorary Chief Curator of the PMMK (Mu.ZEE) in Ostend and the Provincial Museum Constant Permeke in Jabbeke. He was also the initiator of Belgiums triennial Beaufort art exhibition.

Accompanies the exhibition Constant Permeke. Retrospective at the Centre for Fine Arts in Brussels
(11 October 2012 20 January 2013)

SKU: 231 Category:

Rares sont les amateurs d’art qui méconnaissent le langage visuel de Constant Permeke, ses figures monumentales de pêcheurs et de paysans et ses paysages et marines cosmiques. Cet expressionniste flamand fait partie du patrimoine culturel de la Belgique. Il s’est arraché à son terroir pour devenir un artiste universel peintre, dessinateur et sculpteur. L’oeuvre de Permeke est entrée en résonance avec les mouvements d’avant-garde apparus çà et là en Europe avant, pendant et après la Première Guerre mondiale.
Soixante ans après le décès de l’artiste, son oeuvre imposante est étudiée dans une perspective différente. Cet ouvrage propose un aperçu de la vie et de l’oeuvre de Permeke dans son environnement quotidien
et au coeur d’une époque tumultueuse.

Willy Van den Bussche est conservateur en chef honoraire du PMMK (Mu.ZEE) d’Ostende et du Musée provincial Constant Permeke à Jabbeke. Il a également été l’initiateur de Beaufort, le fameux événement artistique de la côte belge.

Accompagne l’exposition Constant Permeke. Rétrospective au Palais des Beaux-Arts de Bruxelles
(11 octobre 2012-20 janvier 2013)