Full House: One Space, Two Shows, 307 Artists, and 400 Pieces from the Frédéric de Goldschmidt Collection explores two exhibitions held in the same building five years apart. It features over three hundred contemporary artworks from the renowned collection of Frédéric de Goldschmidt, and includes contributions from Nicolas Bourriaud and Dirk Snauwaert, among others.

The first show, Not Really Really, co-curated by Agata Jastrząbek, was organized in 2016, in a building that had been vacated only a few months before by a mental health clinic. The works, mostly sculptures made from everyday objects, played with the ambiguity of what the last occupants could have left behind and what the artists purposefully created. The building then underwent lengthy renovations, the evolution of which is documented in photographs. The second show, Inaspettatamente (Unexpectedly), engages with themes such as order and disorder, time, classification, the artists’ processes, and their positions regarding world conflicts, explored through the prism of Italian artist Alighiero Boetti (1940–1994). Originally connected to Arte Povera, Boetti is known for challenging notions of authorship and setting up processes of delegation, notably through works of political cartography carried out by weavers Afghanistan. Boetti, whose work is well represented in the collection, led De Goldschmidt and co-curator Grégory Lang to wonder what he would have made of the current state of the world. The exhibited works were selected not only with the themes of Boetti’s oeuvre and his personality in mind, but to reflect the collection’s diversity and complexity.

In addition to the contributions of Nicolas Bourriaud, Frédéric de Goldschmidt, Christine Jamart, Agata Jastrząbek, Grégory Lang, Donatienne de Séjournet, and Dirk Snauwaert, Full House brings together the works of artists that explore duality and otherness, and examine poetical, social, and geopolitical commitments, offering a recapitulation of the state of our uncertain world.

Four hundred artworks are featured—sculpture, painting, video, and mixed media—from historical figures including Alighiero Boetti, Marcel Broodthaers, Dadamaino, Lucio Fontana, Jan Henderikse, Jannis Kounellis, Sol LeWitt, Heinz Mack, Karel Malich, Piero Manzoni, François Morellet, Michel Parmentier, Otto Piene, Jan Schoonhoven, Günter Uecker, Paul Van Hoeydonck, Marthe Wéry, and Herbert Zangs.

The collection’s major strength are the works of international contemporary artists, including emerging artists, working in different styles, such as Ignasi Aballí, Harold Ancart, Joël Andrianomearisoa, Athanasios Argianas, Neïl Beloufa, Katinka Bock, Mohamed Bourouissa, Tom Burr, Pedro Cabrita Reis, Leonardo Drew, Sam Falls, Michel François, Romuald Hazoumè, Hiwa K, Jacob Kassay, Sigalit Landau, Elad Lassry, Jason Loebs, Shirin Neshat, Gedi Sibony, Valérie Snobeck, Elias Sime, Hank Willis Thomas, Rosemarie Trockel, Oscar Tuazon, and Joëlle Tuerlinckx.

An important part of the collection also focuses on young artists from the vibrant Brussels art scene: Aline Bouvy, Lieven De Boeck, Nadia Guerroui, Nicolás Lamas, Ariane Loze, Benoit Platéus, and Fabrice Samyn among others.

Full House: One Space, Two Shows, 307 Artists and 400 Pieces from the Frédéric de Goldschmidt Collection explore deux expositions organisées dans le même bâtiment à cinq ans d’intervalle. L’ouvrage présente plus de trois cents œuvres contemporaines provenant de la célèbre collection de Frédéric de Goldschmidt et comprend notamment des contributions de Nicolas Bourriaud et Dirk Snauwaert.

La première exposition, Not Really Really, dont le co-commissaire fût Agata Jastrząbek, s’est tenue en 2016, dans un bâtiment évacué, quelques mois auparavant, par une clinique de santé mentale. Les œuvres, pour la plupart des sculptures faites d’objets quotidiens, jouaient sur l’ambiguïté entre ce que les derniers occupants pouvaient avoir laissé derrière eux et les créations des artistes. Le bâtiment a ensuite bénéficié d’une longue rénovation, dont l’évolution est documentée dans un reportage photographique. La seconde exposition, Inaspettatamente (Inopinément), exploite des thèmes comme l’ordre et le désordre, le temps, la classification, les procédés des artistes et leurs positions sur les conflits mondiaux, à travers le prisme de l’artiste italien Alighiero Boetti (1940–1994). Initialement lié à l’Arte Povera, Boetti est connu pour sa remise en cause de la notion de titularité et l’établissement de processus de délégation, en particulier à travers des œuvres de cartographie politique réalisées par des tisserands afghans. Boetti, dont l’œuvre est bien représentée dans la collection, a conduit De Goldschmidt et le co-commissaire Grégory Lang à s’interroger sur ce qu’il aurait fait de l’état actuel du monde. Les œuvres exposées ont été choisies pour refléter, non seulement les créations et la personnalité de Boetti, mais aussi la diversité et la complexité de la collection.

En plus des contributions de Nicolas Bourriaud, Frédéric de Goldschmidt, Christine Jamart, Agata Jastrząbek, Grégory Lang, Donatienne de Séjournet et Dirk Snauwaert, Full House réunit des œuvres qui interrogent les concepts de dualité et d’altérité et sonde les engagements poétiques, sociaux et géopolitiques qui secouent notre monde incertain.

Les quatre cents œuvres rassemblées — sculpture, peinture, vidéo et média mixtes — sont dues à des personnalités historiques comme Alighiero Boetti, Marcel Broodthaers, Dadamaino, Lucio Fontana, Jan Henderikse, Jannis Kounellis, Sol LeWitt, Heinz Mack, Karel Malich, Piero Manzoni, François Morellet, Michel Parmentier, Otto Piene, Jan Schoonhoven, Günter Uecker, Paul Van Hoeydonck, Marthe Wéry et Herbert Zangs.

La force de la collection est d’être constituée d’œuvres d’artistes contemporains internationaux, artistes émergents inclus, qui travaillent dans des styles différents, comme Ignasi Aballí, Harold Ancart, Joël Andrianomearisoa, Athanasios Argianas, Neïl Beloufa, Katinka Bock, Mohamed Bourouissa, Tom Burr, Pedro Cabrita Reis, Leonardo Drew, Sam Falls, Michel François, Romuald Hazoumè, Hiwa K, Jacob Kassay, Sigalit Landau, Elad Lassry, Jason Loebs, Shirin Neshat, Gedi Sibony, Valérie Snobeck, Elias Sime, Hank Willis Thomas, Rosemarie Trockel, Oscar Tuazon et Joëlle Tuerlinckx.

Par ailleurs, une partie importante de la collection est axée sur de jeunes artistes de la vibrante scène artistique bruxelloise : Aline Bouvy, Lieven De Boeck, Nadia Guerroui, Nicolás Lamas, Ariane Loze, Benoit Platéus et Fabrice Samyn entre autres.