“The Ultimate Kiss” is the most comprehensive international publication dedicated to the art of Jacqueline de Jong (The Netherlands, 1939).

Actively involved in the European avant-garde networks of the 1960s, and well-known as a former member of the Situationist International and publisher of The Situationist Times, De Jong has always maintained a dedicated studio practice at the core of her manifold activities for over six decades.

This book presents the full scope of De Jong’s artistic production: from the artist’s earliest expressionist abstractions to her recent painterly reflections on migration and the refugee crisis; from her graphic and print work to her experiments with potatoes as sculptural material. The Ultimate Kiss offers a thorough re-evaluation of an artistic oeuvre that has long remained under the radar and aims to posit De Jong as one of the most resourceful artists of our time.

The artistic, cultural and intellectual importance of De Jong’s art is traced in five essays and a conversation with the artist. Devrim Bayar discusses the artist’s formative years amidst the dynamic developments of the post-war European avant-garde, with a focus on the post-Cobra and post-Surrealist Belgian context. Juliette Desorgues situates the oeuvre of the artist within the space of theatricality, performativity and ‘the stage’.

In an interview with Alison Gingeras, the artist discusses her practice in relation to current political and cultural developments. De Jong’s playfully provocative embrace of violence and sexuality is the subject of an essay by Xander Karskens, while Annabelle Ténèze takes the notion of the rebound to look at the restless multidirectionality that lies at the heart of De Jong’s artisthood. In her personal account of three encounters with the artist, Niña Weijers portrays De Jong and her daily working practice.

Exposition WIELS, 1 May 2021 – 15 August 2021 / Mostyn (Wales) September 2021

The Ultimate Kiss (L’Ultime Baiser) est la monographie internationale la plus complète consacrée à l’art de Jacqueline de Jong (Pays-Bas, 1939).

Figure-clé des réseaux d’avant-garde européens des années 1960, De Jong est bien connue pour son appartenance à l’Internationale Situationniste et son rôle d’éditrice du Situationist Times. Mais, malgré ses multiples activités, elle a poursuivi assidûment son travail en atelier pendant plus de six décennies.

Cet ouvrage présente la production artistique de De Jong dans toute son étendue: des abstractions expressionnistes précoces de l’artiste à ses récentes réflexions picturales sur la migration et la crise des réfugiés, et de son oeuvre graphique à ses expériences sur les pommes de terre comme matériau de sculpture. À travers la réévaluation approfondie d’une oeuvre artistique qui a longtemps échappé aux radars, The Ultimate Kiss tend à situer De Jong parmi les artistes les plus inventifs de notre époque.

L’importance artistique, culturelle et intellectuelle de l’art de De Jong est développée en cinq essais et un entretien avec l’artiste. Devrim Bayar aborde la formation de De Jong au coeur de l’évolution dynamique de l’avant-garde européenne d’après-guerre, en se concentrant sur le contexte belge post-Cobra et post-surréalisme. Juliette Desorgues inscrit l’oeuvre de l’artiste dans l’espace de la  théâtralité, la performativité et ‘la scène’.

Au cours d’un entretien avec Alison Gingeras, l’artiste commente sa pratique à la lumière des développements politiques et culturels actuels.  Son recours provocateur et ludique à la violence et à la sexualité constitue le sujet d’un essai de Xander Karskens, tandis qu’Annabelle Ténèze se fonde sur la notion du rebond pour étudier la multidirectionnalité inlassable qui caractérise la conception de l’art de De Jong. Dans son récit personnel de trois rencontres avec l’artiste, Niña Weijers fait le portrait de De Jong et décrit sa pratique artistique quotidienne.

Exposition WIELS, 1 mai 2021 – 15 août 2021 / Mostyn (Wales) septembre 2021