Kendell Geers, AniMystikAKtivist

Jens Hoffman, Z.S. Strother. With an introduction by Kendell Geers

Kendell Geers, AniMystikAKtivist

39,95

Pages

128

Dimensions

29,7 x 24 cm

Format

Hardcover

Between Traditional and the Contemporary in African Art

South African-born, Belgian artist Kendell Geers changed his date of birth to May 1968 in order to give birth to himself as a work of art. Describing himself as an ‘AniMystikAktivist’, he takes a syncretic approach to art that weaves together diverse Afro-European traditions, including animism, alchemy, mysticism, ritual and a socio-political activism, and is laced with black humour, irony and cultural contradiction.
In the spirit of the archetypal trickster, Geers uses his experiences as a white African like a skeleton key to unlock our understanding of history, culture and identity. AniMystikAKtivist focuses on work created between 1988 and the present, considering the powerful legacy and influence of traditional African art on avant-garde movements, from Dada and Surrealism to punk and the Situationist International.
Spiritually charged, politically poignant and socially engaged, the work of Kendell Geers cannot be categorised as either European or African, but is rather a prolonged metaphysical dialogue between cultures, archetypal signs and sacred symbols.

SKU: 330 Category:

Kendell Geers, AniMystikAKtivist

Jens Hoffman, Z.S. Strother. Avec une préface de Kendell Geers

Kendell Geers, AniMystikAKtivist

39,95

Pages

128

Dimensions

29,7 x 24 cm

Format

Reliure cartonnée

L’artiste belge d’origine sud-africaine Kendell Geers a falsifié sa date de naissance pour la situer en mai 1968, de manière à s’engendrer lui-même comme une oeuvre d’art. Se décrivant comme un ‘AniMystikAKtivist’, il a développé une approche syncrétique de l’art, où  diverses traditions afro-européennes, dont l’animisme, l’alchimie, le mysticisme et les rituels s’entretissent avec l’activisme sociopolitique, l’humour noir, l’ironie et la contradiction culturelle.

Dans l’esprit de l’escroc archétypal, Geers utilise ses expériences d’Africain blanc comme un passe-partout pour déverrouiller notre compréhension de l’histoire, de la culture et de l’identité. AniMystikAKtivist se concentre sur des oeuvres créées entre 1988 et le présent, compte tenu du formidable patrimoine de l’art traditionnel africain et de son influence sur les mouvements avant-gardistes, de Dada à l’Internationale situationniste en passant par le surréalisme et le punk.

Spirituellement chargée, politiquement poignante et socialement engagée, l’oeuvre de Kendell Geers ne peut pas être classée européenne ou africaine. Elle constitue plutôt un dialogue métaphysique prolongé entre cultures, signes archétypaux et symboles sacrés.

UGS : 330 Catégorie :