L'architecture moderne à l'Expo 58

Pour un monde plus humain

Ed. Mil De Kooning & Rika Devos

Currently not available

L’architecture moderne à l’Expo 58

49,95

Out of stock

Pages

352

Dimensions

28 x 25

Format

Hardcover

In co-edition with

Dexia Bank

“In Belgium, there was nothing ahead after the Expo. (…) The World’s Fair meant a peaceful war, so to speak. When it broke out, a new era was here to stay. This would be known as the era of consumption: 1958 was a break year, an earthquake, an earth shift in Belgian history.”
Eric De Kuyper, Grand Hotel Solitude

Expo 58 had to achieve a balance between a world that had just come through war and one mapping out a modern, peaceful era. To the Belgian government, this was an outstanding opportunity to show how well post-war Belgium was doing. The World’s Fair was an outstanding success, and is still influencing our society in many ways. By the time it closed, the Fair had attracted 42 million visitors; 80 % of all Belgians visited Expo 58. At the Heysel, they found a new world, and a new architecture.

The rang of different pavilions at the Expo reflected the great architectural debates of the time: experimenting with new structures, forms and materials; popularising modern architecture; a tendency to put the spotlight on Man, his body and sensory perceptions; renewed attention to confrontation with historical building ideas and elements of local building traditions.

For a more human world brings together seventeen essays on both the actual architecture itself and different aspects of post-war society. After Expo 58, Belgium was indeed ‘not like it was before. This was particularly apparent from city and architecture: high-rise structures, new materials and methods, cheerful and dynamic forms like a Trojan horse, the Expo smuggled modern architecture into the country.

SKU: 42 Category:

L'architecture moderne à l'Expo 58

Pour un monde plus humain

S.l.d. de Rika Devos & Mil De Kooning

Actuellement indisponible

L’architecture moderne à l’Expo 58

49,95

Actuellement indisponible

Pages

352

Dimensions

28 x 25

Format

Relié

En co-édition avec

Dexia Bank

L’Expo 58 devait dresser le bilan d’un monde qui avait laissé la guerre derrière lui et jouait la carte d’une modernité pacifique. L’initiative fut pour l’État belge l’occasion rêvée d’attirer l’attention sur la prospérité de la Belgique d’après-guerre. L’exposition remporta un succès éclatant et influence aujourd’hui encore notre société sur bien des plans. En définitive, elle accueillit 42 millions de visiteurs, dont 80 % de l’ensemble des Belges. Au Heysel, ceux-ci firent connaissance avec un monde nouveau et découvrirent l’architecture nouvelle.

La diversité des pavillons de l’Expo reflétait les grands débats architecturaux de l’époque : les expérimentations de nouvelles constructions, nouvelles formes et nouveaux matériaux ; la popularisation de l’architecture moderne ; la tendance à accorder une place centrale à l’être humain, son corps et ses sensations ; le regain d’intérêt pour les confrontations avec des concepts architecturaux historiques ou des éléments issus de traditions constructives locales.

Pour un monde plus humain réunit dix-sept contributions consacrées à la fois au côté concret de l’architecture et aux divers aspects de la société d’après-guerre. Après l’Expo 58, la Belgique ne fut en effet “plus comme avant”. Cela se voyait surtout à travers la ville et l’architecture : immeubles-tours, nouveaux matériaux et techniques, formes gaies et dynamiques tel un cheval de Troie, l’Expo a introduit subrepticement l’architecture moderne dans le pays.

“En Belgique, rien ne fut plus comme avant après l”Expo. (…) L’exposition universelle fut comme une guerre pacifique. Son issue marqua définitivement le début d’une nouvelle époque, qui allait s’appeler l’ère de la consommation ; 1958 fut une année de rupture, un tremblement de terre, un séisme dans l”histoire belge.”
Eric De Kuyper, Grand Hotel Solitude

UGS : 42 Catégorie :