Nicolas Schöffer

Edited by Arnauld Pierre. With contributions by Arnauld Pierre, Sébastien Delot, Pauline Mari & Dominique Trudel

Nicolas Schöffer

44,95

Pages

240

Dimensions

27 x 24

Format

Hardcover

‘The artist’s role is no longer to create a work but to create creation’

During his lifetime, the innovative works created by the Hungarian-born French artist, Nicolas Schöffer (1912–1992) provoked swift reactions and brought him a level of renown rare among artists of his generation. Awarded the Grand Prize for sculpture at the 34th Venice Biennale in 1968, Schöffer personifies an age focused on the future.
Produced under the expert direction of Arnauld Pierre to accompany the Schöffer exhibition at the Lille Métropole Museum of Modern, Contemporary and Outsider Art in Villeneuve d’Ascq, this major publication focuses on the visionary dimension of the artist’s work. Its point of departure is a selection of emblematic sculptures, paintings, drawings, and documents, including a number of never previously seen works, drawn directly from the artist’s studio and archives. Complementing Schöffer’s ground-breaking creations and his cross-disciplinary collaborations with architects, musicians, choreographers, scientists, and industrialists are selected documents setting each of the works in the original context of its creation, dissemination, and reception.
At a time when new possibilities are opening up in cybernetics and reshaping not only the physical world (with the information society and the new digital cultures) but also our collective imaginations (with the global village and the concept of the post-human), the forward-looking work and ideas of Nicolas Schöffer are acquiring renewed relevance.
Against this background, the publication of a work that looks in detail, and in its entirety, at an enduringly inspiring artistic career makes eminent sense.

Lille Métropole, musée d’art moderne, d’art contemporain et d’art brut (LaM), Villeneuves-d’Asque,23 February -  20 May 2018

SKU: 321 Category:

Nicolas Schöffer

Sous la direction d'Arnauld Pierre. Avec des contributions d'Arnauld Pierre, Sébastien Delot, Pauline Mari & Dominique Trudel

Nicolas Schöffer

44,95

Pages

240

Dimensions

27 x 24

Format

Reliure cartonnée

“Le rôle de l’artiste n’est plus de créer une oeuvre mais de créer la création”

De son vivant, les innovations de l’artiste français d’origine hongroise, Nicolas Schöffer (1912–1992) ont suscité des réactions immédiates, et l’ont porté à un degré de notoriété que peu d’artistes de sa génération ont connu. Grand Prix de sculpture de la 34e Biennale de Venise en 1968, il incarne un âge où le futur était encore un objet de désir.
Établi sous la direction scientifique d’Arnauld Pierre, à l’occasion de l’exposition au LaM Lille Métropole musée d’art moderne, d’art contemporain et d’art brut à Villeneuve d’Ascq, cet ouvrage d’envergure s’attache plus particulièrement à la dimension visionnaire de Nicolas Schöffer. Il part d’une sélection de sculptures, de peintures, de dessins et de documents emblématiques de son oeuvre, dont des inédits provenant directement de l’atelier et du fonds d’archives de l’artiste. Ses projets les plus exploratoires et ses collaborations expérimentales transdisciplinaires avec les architectes, les musiciens, les chorégraphes, les scientifiques ou les industriels sont complétés par des documents d’époque réinscrivant chacun d’entre eux dans son contexte de création, de diffusion et de réception.
L’oeuvre et la pensée prospectives de Nicolas Schöffer trouvent une actualité revivifiée à l’heure où de nouvelles perspectives cybernétiques se font jour, et façonnent à nouveau notre univers matériel (la société de l’information, les nouvelles cultures numériques) mais aussi nos imaginaires (le village global, le post-humain).
Ce contexte justifie la publication aujourd’hui d’un ouvrage reprenant en détail l’ensemble d’un parcours d’artiste sans cesse plus inspirant.

Lille Métropole, musée d’art moderne, d’art contemporain et d’art brut (LaM), Villeneuves-d’Asque,23 février – 20 mai 2018

UGS : 321 Catégorie :