Exclusive limited artists edition of the book, signed by the artist and numbered A to Z, containing a bronze especially made for this edition, entitled ‘Les Amandes’. Please reserve your copy of this exclusive edition at the price of 1,000 euros by calling us +32 (0)2 548 25 36.

Philip Aguirre y Otegui (b.1961) is a Fleming of Basque origin who lives in Antwerp and teaches at Sint-Lucas Brussel.

His work is characterised by a very original dialogue with classical sculpture and takes its themes from politics and current affairs. Aguirre is an artist of international repute who has enjoyed solo and collective exhibitions both in Belgium and overseas. Several of his works are installed in public locations or figure among major public collections.

There are two constants in Philip Aguirres oeuvre, whether he is drawing, sculpting, working with tin, plaster or bronze: the symbiotic relationship between modern and classical characteristics on the one hand, and on the other his humanist tendency.

On the occasion of a retrospective in 2005, Peter Doroshenko wrote of him: The architect Le Corbusier once declared that the ultimate goal of architecture is to move the spirit of Man. In his work, Philip Aguirre systematically accomplishes this aim; the extraordinary power of his output derives not merely from the depth of the sentiments it awakens, but also from the way it sheds light on the complexity of our feelings, and this within significant environments that invite us to stop and linger.

En exclusivité, une édition d’artiste limitée d’une valeur de 1.000 euros, signée et numérotée de A à Z, accompagnée d’une sculpture en bronze “Les Amandes” et présentée dans un étui spécialement conçu à cet égard. Réservez votre édition dès à présent en nous contactant au +32 (0)2 548 25 36.

Philip Aguirre y Otegui (1961) est flamand d’origine basque. Il vit à Anvers et enseigne à Sint-Lucas Brussel.

L’oeuvre de Philip Aguirre est marquée par un dialogue très original avec la sculpture classique, s’inspirant de thèmes politiques et d’actualité. Aguirre est un artiste de renommée internationale qui a participé à des expositions solo et collectives tant en Belgique quà l’étranger. Plusieurs de ses oeuvres sont installées dans des lieux publics ou figurent dans d’importantes collections publiques.

Que Philip Aguirre grave, dessine ou sculpte, qu’il travaille le fer-blanc, le plâtre ou le bronze, deux aspects se retrouvent constamment dans son oeuvre: la symbiose entre caractéristiques classiques et modernistes, d’une part, et une tendance humaniste, de l’autre.

A l’occasion d’une rétrospective en 2005, Peter Doroshenko a écrit à son propos: “«Larchitecte Le Corbusier a déclaré un jour quémouvoir l’homme était le but final de l’architecture. Dans son oeuvre, Philip Aguirre accomplit de manière systématique le dessein suprême de l’architecture: la force extraordinaire de ses oeuvres ne tient pas seulement à la profondeur des sentiments quelles suscitent, mais aussi à la façon dont elles nous éclairent sur la complexité de nos sentiments, et ce dans des environnements signifiants qui nous invitent à nous arrêter et à nous attarder.»”