… Saint Augustine is also a man with a heart filled with passion. This iconographic tradition constitutes the guiding thread in the book, a detailed and superbly illustrated study devoted to the man and his thinking.
Saint Augustine conveyed the ardour of his love not only in his Rules for Life, which was adopted by numerous religious orders, or in the originality of his many writings, which continue to be study minutely; but also through the force of his actions within the Church of North Africa. A universal spirit and conscientious thinker, he was also a remarkable bishop, who truly took care of his people in the original sense of the word ‘episkopos’.

With contributions from Tarsicius J. Van Bavel, Bernard Bruning, J. Kevin Coyle, Martine Dulaey, Allan Fitzgerald, Carol Harrison, Mathijs Lamberigts, Serge Lancel, George Lawless, Maria G. Mara, Robert A. Markus, Thomas F. Martin, Cornelius Mayer, Donato Ogliari, Miguel A. Orcasitas, Robert F. Prevost, J. Rist, Martijn Schrama, Larissa C. Seelbach, Matthias Smalbrugge, Roland J. Teske and Rowan Williams.

Augustin fut le premier à parler abondamment de lui-même dans ses textes, plaçant ainsi l’être humain au centre de l’histoire. Saint Augustin est aussi l’homme au coeur ardent. Cette tradition iconographique constitue le fil rouge du livre, une étude détaillée et superbement illustrée consacrée à l’homme et à sa pensée.
Saint Augustin n’a pas seulement transmis le feu de l’amour dans sa Règle de vie, qui a été adoptée par de nombreux religieux, ou dans l’originalité de ses multiples écrits, qui continuent d’être minutieusement étudiés ; il l’a fait aussi par le biais de la force de son action au sein de l’Église d’Afrique du Nord. Esprit universel et penseur consciencieux, il fut aussi un remarquable évêque, qui s’occupait réellement de son peuple au sens premier du terme ‘episkopos’.

Avec des contributions de Tarsicius J. van Bavel, Bernard Bruning, J. Kevin Coyle, Martine Dulaey, Allan Fitzgerald, Carol Harrison, Mathijs Lamberigts, Serge Lancel , George Lawless, Maria G. Mara, Robert A. Markus, Thomas F. Martin, Cornelius Mayer, Donato Ogliari, Miguel A. Orcasitas, Robert F. Prevost, J. Rist, Martijn Schrama, Larissa C. Seelbach, Matthias Smalbrugge, Roland J. Teske et Rowan Williams.