The Thannhauser Gallery

Marketing Van Gogh

Edited by Stefan Koldehoff & Chris Stolwijk

The Thannhauser Gallery

49,95

Pages

328

Dimensions

26 x 20 cm

Format

Hardcover

The Thannhauser Gallery was one of the most important art galleries in Germany in the decades before the Second World War. From 1905 onwards, Heinrich Thannhauser, and later his son Justin Thannhauser in collaboration with his cousin Siegfried Rosengart, built an impressive international network of dealers and collectors, establishing a reputation as dedicated promoters of modern art.

This publication focuses on the crucial role of the gallery, and later of Justin Thannhauser as a private dealer, in the publicizing and distribution of works by Vincent van Gogh. From pre-war Germany to early 1960s New York, the gallery acquired and sold a significant part of Van Gogh’s oeuvre: more than 100 works, including many masterpieces now in museum collections around the world.

This book provides a wealth of insights into how the Thannhausers cultivated and shaped an early clientele for the artist’s works. Many new details on the provenance of individual pieces are presented here, alongside in-depth studies on the mechanisms of the gallery and the ‘marketing of Van Gogh’ in an ever-globalizing art world.

Edited by Stefan Koldehoff & Chris Stolwijk. With contributions by Megan M. Fontanella & Günter Herzog and a catalogue raisonné by Monique Hageman & Nora Koldehoff

SKU: 319 Categories: , ,

La Galerie Thannhauser a été l’une des principales galeries d’art allemandes avant la Seconde Guerre mondiale. À partir de 1905, Heinrich Thannhauser et ensuite son fils Justin, en étroite collaboration avec leur cousin Siegfried Rosengart, développèrent un impressionnant réseau de marchands d’art et de collectionneurs, se forgeant une réputation de promoteurs dévoués de l’art.

Cet ouvrage se focalise sur le rôle crucial de la Galerie Thannhauser, et ultérieurement de Justin Thannhauser comme marchand d’art privé, dans la publication et la distribution des œuvres de Van Gogh. De l’avant-guerre en Allemagne au début des années 1960 à New York, la galerie a acquis et vendu une partie significative de sa production : plus d’une centaine d’œuvres réparties désormais dans des musées du monde entier.

Les archives de la galerie ont livré quantité d’indices sur la manière dont les Thannhauser ont su constituer une clientèle précoce pour les œuvres de l’artiste. Une foule de détails nouveaux sur la provenance des œuvres sont présentés, à côté d’études approfondies sur les mécanismes de la galerie et le « marketing de Van Gogh ». 

Sous la direction de Stefan Koldehoff & Chris Stolwijk. Avec des contributions de Megan M. Fontanella & Günter Herzog et un catalogue d’œuvres compilé par Monique Hageman & Nora Koldehoff