Théo Van Rysselberghe (1862-1926) is one of the emblematic figures of Neo-Impressionism, together with Georges Seurat and Paul Signac. With his delicate touch, refined chromatic sense and great elegance, above all in his portraits, he produced some of the finest works of divisionism.

Yet Van Rysselberghes oeuvre is not limited to the works of his Neo-Impressionist period (1888-96), even though it is for these that he is best known internationally. Distancing himself from the strict division of colours, he subsequently moved towards a more fluid style, though always retaining great luminosity. His portraits and female nudes, the landscapes he brought back from his numerous trips (Morocco, France, Italy, Spain, the Netherlands) reveal insatiable curiosity and immense talent, coupled with rare sensibility.

This catalogue presents a large number of works shown for the first time in public. Théo van Rysselberghes fascinating and unusually extensive correspondence has served as a point of departure for a number of the contributions to this publication. It has enabled us to discover both the man and the artist, revealing his ambitions and disappointments and lifting the veil on his various interests and projects.

The contributors to this publication have focused on Théo van Rysselberghe’s life as well as his development as an artist. Some have examined his close relationships with a range of personalities among the artists and writers of his age (Seurat, Signac, Cross, Toulouse-Lautrec, Verhaeren, Gide and Maus, to name just a few). Others have retraced his journeys in Morocco and Italy or examined his special ties with France, where he settled in 1898. Together these contributions shed new light on an artist celebrated, yet still not well known, for works of outstanding beauty and deep sincerity.

Théo Van Rysselberghe

S.l.d. de Olivier Bertrand

Actuellement indisponible

Théo Van Rysselberghe

39,00

Actuellement indisponible

Pages

256

Dimensions

29 x 24

Format

Reliure cartonnée

En co-édition avec

Bozar, Bruxelles

Théo Van Rysselberghe (1862-1926) est, avec Georges Seurat et Paul Signac, une des figures emblématiques du néo-impressionnisme. Par sa touche délicate, son jeu chromatique raffiné et une grande élégance, notamment dans ses portraits, il porte le divisionnisme à son apogée.

Mais l’oeuvre de Van Rysselberghe ne se limite pas à sa seule production néo-impressionniste (1888-1896) même si elle est, de loin, la plus connue et la plus reconnue au niveau international. Séloignant de la stricte division des tons, il s’oriente ensuite vers un style plus fluide tout en conservant à ses oeuvres une grande luminosité. Ses portraits et nus féminins, ses paysages rapportés de ses nombreux voyages (Maroc, France, Italie, Espagne, Pays-Bas, etc.) témoignent d’une curiosité insatiable et révèlent un immense talent doublé d’une rare sensibilité.

La passionnante et importante correspondance de Théo Van Rysselberghe a servi de référence à plusieurs contributions du présent ouvrage. Elle nous permet de découvrir tout à la fois l’homme et l’artiste, révélant ses ambitions et ses déceptions, levant le voile sur ses centres d’intérêts et sur ses projets.

Les différents auteurs se sont intéressés tant à la biographie quau parcours artistique de Théo Van Rysselberghe. Certains se sont attachés aux rapports privilégiés entretenus avec diverses personnalités, artistes et écrivains de son temps (Seurat, Signac, Cross, Toulouse-Lautrec, Verhaeren, Gide et Maus pour ne citer queux), dautres ont retracé ses voyages au Maroc et en Italie, dautres enfin ont insisté sur les liens privilégiés noués avec la France où il sinstalle dès 1898. L’ensemble de ces contributions éclaire ainsi, sous un jour nouveau, un artiste réputé mais encoreméconnu, à travers des oeuvres dune insigne beauté et dune profonde sincérité.

UGS : 47 Catégorie :