Between 1886 and 1888, Vincent van Gogh lived with his brother Theo in Montmartre, the artists’ quarter of Paris. This period was decisive in Van Gogh’s evolution as an artist the erstwhile realist painter of peasant scenes would become, under the influence of the Impressionists, a modern artist. This book describes Van Gogh’s relationship with Montmartre its famous windmills, its gardens, the views across the city, the people strolling in its narrow streets, etc. He drew and painted Montmartre with enthusiasm and a keen eye for detail. He also formed close friendships with other artists and would, for the first time, make a serious effort to sell and exhibit his work. By the time he left for Arles in 1888, he had won himself a minor place in the French avant-garde.

This richly illustrated volume offers the reader a vision of Van Gogh’s travels, friendships and daily life in Montmartre, as well as the influences and changes in his work that resulted from his encounter with the legendary quarter of the French capital.

The book’s table of contents includes: First Steps in Montmartre A “Man of the North” in Paris First Contact with the Avant-Garde Daily Life With Theo Bohemian Montmartre The Windmills on the Hill Fresh Momentum A More Modern Way to Depict the City Nightlife in Montmartre Exhibiting and Selling A Ideal Collaboration.

Nienke Bakker is a curator at the Van Gogh Museum.

En 1886, Vincent van Gogh sinstalle pour deux ans chez son frère Theo, à Montmartre, dans le quartier des artistes. Cette période sera décisive pour son évolution : le peintre réaliste, habitué des scènes paysannes, deviendra un artiste moderne dans le sillage des impressionnistes. Cet ouvrage décrit les liens de Van Gogh avec Montmartre. Les fameux moulins, les potagers, les échappées sur la ville, les promeneurs dans les ruelles& Il a dessiné et peint Montmartre avec enthousiasme et un sens aigu du détail. Il se liera également damitié avec dautres artistes et fera pour la première fois de sérieux efforts pour vendre et exposer ses oeuvres. Quand il part pour Arles, dans le Midi de la France, en 1888, il sest fait une petite place dans lavantgarde française.
Louvrage, richement illustré, présente le parcours, les rencontres et la vie de Van Gogh dans cet univers ainsi que les influences et les évolutions perceptibles dans ses oeuvres au contact de ce quartier légendaire de la capitale française.
Voici un aperçu de la table des matières de louvrage : – Premiers pas à Montmartre – Un « homme du Nord » à Paris – Premiers contacts avec lavant-garde La vie quotidienne avec Théo La Bohème de Montmartre Les moulins de la Butte De nouveaux élans Saisir la ville dans un style plus moderne Sortir à Montmartre Exposer et vendre Un idéal de collaboration.

Nienke Bakker est conservatrice des expositions au Van Gogh Museum.